teresa (
munies) wrote in
maskormenace2015-11-29 01:39 am
Entry tags:
- conner kent | superboy,
- † agent carolina | n/a,
- † bill cipher | your lord and master,
- † bruce wayne | batman,
- † eobard thawne | reverse flash,
- † hal jordan | green lantern,
- † hanzo urushihara | n/a,
- † isaac gates | felix,
- † jesse pinkman | diesel,
- † kanaya maryam-lalonde | psychopomp,
- † maria thorpe | n/a,
- † qubit | n/a,
- † roxy lalonde | rogue of void,
- † teresa | n/a,
- † wally west | kid flash
video;
[ so it turns out, even after being here for so long ( a year now, which is- it's a lot. it's a long time. so she's not thinking about that now! ) it's still really difficult for Teresa to feel comfortable talking to the camera, to post to the network. she's not shy, really, she doesn't mind listening in and responding to other people, but being on the opposite end is wildly intimidating, for some reason. but! far it be from her to step down from a challenge when she's got something on her mind ]
So, I understand the concept of secret identities. I understand the need to protect the person behind the superpowers, and protecting those close to them. I understand the desire to live a normal life outside of what you can do when you use your abilities. It's all- I get it. I promise.
But why here? Why, when everyone is equipped with powers of all kinds without fail, do people still go by an alter ego? I probably sound like I'm trying to make some kind of dig at those who choose to go by a superhero alias, but it's a genuine question. I mean, I highly doubt every one of you just really enjoys wearing a lot of spandex and leather every day, so... What's the real advantage of wearing a mask in a place like this?
[ she's already got a few vague ideas - it's not like she'd know, personally, but she has a couple of friends who rock costumes when they're out using their abilities. it's one thing to take a guess, and another to hear it from someone else, so. that's what this is. super curious, this one. ]
This is coming from someone whose world was full of a lot of codenames, and secrets, and a number of other carefully controlled things I won't get into, so I guess I'm just curious about this because I believe having the choice to be open about who we are and what we can do here is one of the best things about being here. No hiding, no secrets. So... Why?
So, I understand the concept of secret identities. I understand the need to protect the person behind the superpowers, and protecting those close to them. I understand the desire to live a normal life outside of what you can do when you use your abilities. It's all- I get it. I promise.
But why here? Why, when everyone is equipped with powers of all kinds without fail, do people still go by an alter ego? I probably sound like I'm trying to make some kind of dig at those who choose to go by a superhero alias, but it's a genuine question. I mean, I highly doubt every one of you just really enjoys wearing a lot of spandex and leather every day, so... What's the real advantage of wearing a mask in a place like this?
[ she's already got a few vague ideas - it's not like she'd know, personally, but she has a couple of friends who rock costumes when they're out using their abilities. it's one thing to take a guess, and another to hear it from someone else, so. that's what this is. super curious, this one. ]
This is coming from someone whose world was full of a lot of codenames, and secrets, and a number of other carefully controlled things I won't get into, so I guess I'm just curious about this because I believe having the choice to be open about who we are and what we can do here is one of the best things about being here. No hiding, no secrets. So... Why?

text; id reads batman
Exposing who we are exposes our mundanity, more than anything else.
texting now too!
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
VOICE;
video;
video;
Text;
Text;
In my case, it's the name I grew up with. I had my code name way longer than I went by my given name.
I think at this point, if I did try to go by my given name? It would just feel like a weird nickname, not so much a code name.
Text;
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
video;
You know back home I was working with a guy named Sharkface? Tell me that doesn't sound incredibly dumb.
video;
Sharkface! Unless the man literally had a shark face, somehow, I'm not sure why he would be excited to have a nickname like that.
And yeah, I mean- I understand why people enjoy nicknames. I'm not completely hating on somebody that wants to go by something other than their real name. The need for an entirely secret identity is a little lost on me.
video;
video;
Re: video;
(no subject)
Video
I don't have one though so...I dunno.
no subject
Those are all pretty selfish reasons.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
video;
The reasoning varies from person to person, but in my experience it's essentially a matter of boundaries. Even with all our abilities, we can't possibly be everywhere or respond to every demand made of us. Keeping our private and public lives separate is one way of dealing with that.
no subject
I'm also not sure I'm getting why using your powers to help people means giving up a sense of privacy.
[ yeah Teresa so doesn't have superheroes in her world. it's not- clicking. ]
whoops i teal deered
grabbyhands yes good
(no subject)
(no subject)
video;
video;
video;
[ video ]
[ video ]
What do you think constitutes as crazy powers?
[ video ]
[ video ]
[ video ]
video.
Some of us simply operate under a nom de guerre without any pretense of secrecy. That itself may seem a little pointless, but it projects a certain narrative and image, something that can be more effective as one is in action. A criminal isn't as likely be intimidated by some alien imPort whose name they'll probably mispronounce as they might be Echidna, the mother of monsters.
no subject
Although you've brought up the main point why I'm so skeptical of secret identities - for the most part, anyone that went by a codename was hiding something, and it was never good. I know that's not the case for everyone here, but there's still a part of me that makes the association, I guess. It's hard to shake that feeling.
(no subject)
[ video ]
[ video ]
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
text
or most of us do i guess
and this way nobody blows ur house up in the middle of the night while u tryna catch those zs
no subject
(no subject)
video; id reads green lantern
[Which is only partially true considering he's reached open secret with his own identity.]
Also more than one person has asked me to sign their doll of me and I don't need people like that camping outside my door.
no subject
[ that first part she's actually curious about. it could change her perspective, maybe, so she's genuinely curious. which is why she doesn't mean to laugh at that second part, but there's an amused huff there, for sure ]
We're all treated like celebrities here, to some extent. Wearing the costume just heightened that. I mean, you wouldn't have a doll made of you if you hadn't worn a mask to begin with, y'know? You could be treated just like everyone else.
(no subject)
getting a little meta ehhhhh
text - ID reads Kid Flash
also one of the goals around here is to figure out how to keep our memories going home
and lastly bc it is cool and mysterious
no subject
You believe maintaining your secret identity here will help you remember this place if/when you get sent back home?
Is it reeeally that cool?
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
voice
A lot of people are also accustomed to it. Wish to keep their dual lives separate - no different than how people may keep their home and work lives apart.
no subject
I don't think I would love the idea of someone keeping up a secret identity to keep me safe, either. There's something sort of arrogant about that reasoning.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)